top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJames

Smoulder : Dream Quest Ends


Doom band Smoulder have released their first EP, Dream Quest Ends, hot on the trail of their debut album Times of Obscene Evil and Wild Daring. The sound of Smoulder is heavily laden with traditional doom elements, gorgeous soaring vocal passages and visions of adventure. While the sword and sorcery elements may turn some away, it's this exact kind of shit that I love with epic doom. Tell me a story, damnit! Well, Smoulder spins some fantastic tales.


The music is brimming with influences from Blind Guardian, Gates of Slumber, Candlemass and dozens more. Vocalist Sarah Ann wields the mic in a way that would make any warrior queen proud. The rest of the band, Vincent and Colin on guitar, Adam on Bass and Kevin on skins, provide the perfect atmosphere of wizards, demons and sorcery for Sarah to weave the stories in. Oh, and that cover art from Michael Whelan? Perfection. The EP leaves me wanting more, so I can not wait for the next release from Smoulder. I'll just have to go back and listen to what they have currently released a dozen more times today I guess.



If songs about demon warriors and necromancy are your thing, I highly recommend giving Smoulder a listen! I expect I'll be listening to this young Toronto band for some time.


I'm giving Dream Quest Ends a 8.5/10



21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page